The Transformers Archive Skip to main content / Also skip section headers

[The Transformers Archive - an international fan site]
Please feel free to log in or register.

 
  • transformers toys
  • transformers comics
  • transformers cartoon
  • transformers live-action movies
  • transformers fandom
  • transformers forum

THE TRANSFORMERS: COMICS, BOOKS AND MANGA

IDW Publishing
(2005-now)
Devil's Due
(2003-2007)
Dreamwave
(2002-2004)
Club/Con
(2001-now)
Titan Books
(2001-now)
Marvel Comics
(1984-1994)
Japanese
Manga
Other Books
and Titles

CURRENT TRANSFORMERS COMICS FROM IDW PUBLISHING

Transformers: All Hail Megatron

| Focus On: Decepticons | #1 | #2 | #3 | #4 | #5 | #6 | #7 | #8 | #9 | #10 | #11 | #12 |
| TPB V1 | TPB V2 |

Focus On: Decepticons

Released April 9th 2008.

Publisher solicitation: Starscream. Thundercracker. Skywarp. Shockwave. And, of course, their terrifying leaderŠ the Decepticons represent the greatest threat in the history of Earth -- and now they're about to make their move. What are their plans? What will it mean for fate of mankind? And where are the Autobots, sworn defenders against Megatron's menace? IDW Publishing is set to unveil a globe-shattering Transformers event that will explode across comics pages this spring, and this specially-priced sneak peek features preview art, behind-the-scenes interviews, design sketches, information on the Decepticons of the upcoming Movie Sequel series and more!

$2.99 cover price.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #1

Released July 10th 2008.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Neil Uyetake and Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: One year later:

A quiet day in New York is disturbed by the arrival of the Constructicons. The locals assume a movie is being filmed until they start blasting people. They are soon joined by Starscream and the Seekers who add to the destruction. Starscream's gloating over his superiority to Megatron is disturbed by the arrival of his leader, who shows how hardcore he is by destroying a skyscraper.

At a nearby USAF base a squadron of pilots is launched, though they don't believe in the reports of giant alien robots until they see them with their own eyes. Megatron and the other Decepticons make fast work of them.

On Cybertron a depressed and battered group of Autobots watch over a badly wounded Optimus Prime.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Optimus Prime [Flashback and present as a near corpse], Slingshot [Flashback], Megatron [Flashback and present], Headstrong [Flashback], Soundwave [Flashback and present], Starscream [Flashback and present], Astrotrain [Flashback and present], Wheeljack [Flashback and present], Ironhide [Flashback and present], Jazz [Flashback and present], Bumblebee [Flashback and present], Ratchet [Flashback and present], Long Haul, Hook, Mixmaster, Scavenger, Bonecrusher, Scrapper, Thundercracker, Skywarp, "DJ" [Killed], Andy, Shrapnel, Bombshell, Blitzwing, Cliffjumper, Tracks, Mirgae, Sunstreaker, Sideswipe, Trailbreaker, Prowl.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #2

Released August 20th 2008.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: At a house party being thrown by his wife, Colonel Danny Witwicky is startled by the arrival of a helicopter with orders to take him to New York and take command of an emergency there. Within the City, Andy Reid has survived the crash of his F-22 and is being chased by Ravage. Teaming up with a woman named Sarah and a man called Bridge, they manage to escape the Decepticon with the aid of a Molotov cocktail and a sturdy door.

As Colonel Witwicky arrives at the field headquarters he learns the robots are assembled in Central Park and orders the assembled nearby troops to attack whilst he is briefed on the situation. The troops think the four visible robots will be easy to deal with, until Megatron sends just Frenzy to attack them with his ultra sonic frequencies. As the Colonel finishes learning that the robots who caused so much trouble last year were aliens rather than terrorists, he is informed that all the soldiers have been killed.

Andy and company try their best to get out of New York, but the tunnels and bridges are blocked. This turns out to be a good thing for them as the Seekers destroy the bridges whilst Laserbeak relays the images to the world. Then the Constructicons form Devastator, who wades into the Hudson River and delivers a punch that destroys the tunnels, with thousands of fleeing people in them...

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Colonel Witwicky, Skywarp, Astrotrain, Thundercracker, Commander Andy Reid, Sarah, Ravage, Agent Grant, Bridge, Lieutenant Colonel Hawke, Soundwave, Megatron, Hook, Astrotrain, Frenzy, Starscream [Picture, and in person], Optimus Prime [Picture], Blitzwing, Scrapper, Mixmaster, Long Haul, Bonecrusher, Scavenger, Devastator.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #3

Released September 17th 2008.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Within days of the first attack, New York is now completely under the control of the Decepticons. Human survivors huddle in subway stations, but Astrotrain is making his way through them killing all he finds.

Outside the attack area, Colonel Witwicky is told the attacks are spreading to other parts of the country. With the Navy also taken out, he is already desperate when he learns that Air Force One has been shot down in Washington.

This act was carried out by Starscream, who upon returning to the Decepticons base in the ruins of New York, earns some rare praise from Megatron. The two gloat over the fact that the defeat of the Autobot resistance was achieved by a traitor they hadn't expected. Meanwhile, Hook begins planning the rebuilding of New York into a new base.

Andy and Bridge are also hiding with people in a subway, but Andy's Air Force training means they're much better supplied and defended than the others. This means when Astrotrain arrives most of the refugees are able to flee, but Andy himself seemingly falls to a killer blow from the Decepticon...

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Astrotrain, Lieutenant Colonel Hawke, Colonel Witwicky, Megatron, Hook, Starscream, Rumble, Spyglass, Spectro, Viewfinder, Commander Andy Reid [Seemingly killed by Astrotrain], Bridge.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #4

Released October 22nd 2008.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Megatron has not only successfully conquered Earth, but Decepticon teams throughout the Galaxy have finally defeated the Autobot resistance.

On Cybertron, a petulant Ironhide is arguing with Prowl over there being a traitor in their midst, and even winds up punching his superior. Though Jazz calms the situation down, he and Prowl know that without more Energon, Optimus will soon die and that will be the end for them all.

In The Deserted City, Wheeljack and Bumblebee are searching for new Energon sources, but with no luck. They soon realise they are being watched, and use Wheeljack's new distress signal to get around the communication interference on the planet to call for help. Back at their base, Ironhide and Cliffjumper set out, leaving a reluctant Sunstreaker behind to keep an eye on the Autobot he believes betrayed them.

Within their new hiding home on Earth, the late Andy's group of survivors are falling apart without leadership. Sarah confront Bridge and makes him realise he needs to assume the leadership role.

On Cybertron, Ironhide and Cliffjumper take down the watching observer, only to find it's Hot Rod. He and some others were shot down over Cybertron some time ago and have been awaiting rescue - he's so glad someone has received their distress call and come looking for them...

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Megatron, Starscream, Skywarp, Thundercracker, Astrotrain, Blitzwing, Soundwave, Bombshell, Hawke, Witwicky, Bridge, Sarah, Shrapnel, Kickbak, Scrapper, Hook, Jazz, Ironhide, Prowl, Tracks, Mirage, Trailbreaker, Cliffjumper, Sideswipe, Sunstreaker, Bumblebee, Wheeljack, Hot Rod.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #5

Released November 26th 2008.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi and Casey Coller.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Neil Uyetake.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Hot Rod is brought back to the others and explains to Jazz how his team, lead by Kup on the Starship Trion, followed a Decepticon battle cruiser into a trap in orbit of Cybertron and were shot down when the Decepticons were able to penetrate their ship's systems. Once they crashed they expected to be followed or for the Swarm to turn up and so they hid, trying their best to conserve Energon whilst Hot Rod rigged a distress signal. His story finished, Kup and the other crewmembers arrive.

Outside New York, Colonel Witwicky’s son Spike arrives at the army camp. His father explains that the Decepticons are beginning to attack the rest of the country and the United Nations are getting nervous so America needs to solve this problem before the world starts to take extreme measures that could cost millions of lives. By studying Decepticon broadcasts they know Megatron is the leader and his death would leave the others directionless. Spike is to lead a team into New York and use a new weapon that was stored in the City to try to kill Megatron.

On Cybertron, Kup is unconvinced by Jazz’s leadership, but the head of Special Ops proves his worth as a rational leader by beating up Springer and Blurr. He then takes Kup to Prime.

Spike and his team try to cross the river into New York but barely get halfway before Ratbat seemingly kills all of them, leaving the Colonel broken.

Jazz explains to Kup that Prime was wounded by Devastator and is dying. Kup is able to guess what Jazz and Prowl have been keeping from the others; Megatron has the Matrix.

On Earth, Megatron gloats over his prize amongst the newly constructed buildings in New York, whilst by the river Spike has somehow survived and made it to the other side…

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Hot Rod [Flashback and present], Blaster [flashback and present], Blurr [Flashback and present], Kup [Flashback and present], Perceptor [Flashback and present], Springer [Flashback and present], Drift [Flashback and present], Cliffjumper, Ratchet, Ironhide, Bumblebee, Jazz, Trailbreaker, Prowl, Wheeljack, Sunstreaker, Sideswipe, Tracks, Roadbuster, Colonel Witwicky, Hawke, Spike Witwicky, Megatron [Photo and present], Ratbat, Optimus Prime.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #6

Released January 2nd 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: On Cybertron, Kup and Jazz discuss both the loss of the Matrix and the way the Decepticons broke their computer codes to bring their systems down. However, Kup’s attempt to take leadership of the group and exert his authority over Jazz creates a rift between them.

In Israel, Megatron surveys the devastation and recalls a conversation he had with Starscream where the Air Commander gloatingly points out that winning is the worst thing the Decepticons could have done as they now have no purpose and have beaten the only worthy foes they are ever likely to have. He points out the entire attack on Earth is little more than a distraction to keep the troops busy.

This seems to be born out in Beijing, where an argument erupts between Skywarp and Bombshell that nearly turns into a full fight between the Insecticons and the Seekers. Even after the Insecticons have been driven off, Skywarp and Thundercracker argue over the latter’s lack of interest in carnage.

Back on Cybertron, Kup decides not to tell the others about the Matrix as they need the unity of faith in it brings. He also decides to use the Energon left over from the Trion to fix Prime. Outside their base, Ironhide is about to broach the idea of dealing with Mirage to Roadbuster when they are disturbed by a member of the Swarm – part of a vast army of Insecticon clones that had been dumped on Cybertron as a failed experiment that only produced three useful Transformers. Perceptor and Drift take care of it before it can bring others, but Kup decides they’re too exposed and prepares everyone to move.

In France, a meeting of representatives of the major world governments leads to the decision to destroy New York.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Kup, Jazz, Prowl, Megatron, Starscream [Hallucination/Flashback/Dream thingy], Skywarp, Bombshell, Thundercracker, Kickback, Shrapnel, Springer, Hot Rod, Ratchet, Bumblebee, Blurr, Perceptor, Tracks, Trailbreaker, Blaster, Cliffjumper, Wheeljack, Mirage, Sunstreaker, Ironhide, Roadbuster, Swarm Members, Drift, Blitzwing.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #7

Released February 4th 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi & E.J. Su.

Colours by: Josh Burcham.

Colour Assist by: Benjamin Maier.

Letters by: Chris Mowry & Robbie Robbins.

Edits by: Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Before: On Cybertron, scientist Deluge has created the Swarm, nearly three thousand twisted deformed Decepticons, in the hope of producing the perfect breeding ground for evil genius. Though Thundercracker is unhappy at the treatment of fellow Decepticons it has produced one notable success, in Bombshell. Megatron takes the new Transformer to meet someone…

Now: On Cybertron, the Autobots race to find a more secure base before the Swarm find them. As they travel, Jazz explains how they came to their current predicament. Having both Prime and Megatron on Earth had resulted in a stalemate, with the Decepticons eventually vanishing from sight. Eventually the Autobots received word via Mirage that Starscream had made a power play resulting in a broken split force. Preparing a raid on what they expected to be a small group of ‘Cons, Optimus lead his troops into a textbook ambush by the full Decepticon force. Despite this, they managed to hold their own until Devastator tipped the balance, resulting in everyone falling and Megatron taking the Matrix.

Kup interrupts the story to order a brief rest, allowing Sideswipe to get Sunstreaker alone. He tries to persuade his teammate that he and Ironhide need to leave Mirage alone as it’s ripping the team apart. He then tries to talk to him about his terrible experience as a Headmaster, but Sunstreaker just brushes him off.

Jazz continues recounting to Kup, explaining that after they were defeated Megatron gloatingly told them that the Autobots had been betrayed by a traitor within their own ranks. After breaking them with this news, the Autobots were forced into a Space Bridge to Cybertron with the intent of them being fed to the Swarm, but last man in Prime did something that destroyed the Bridge but badly damaged him as he was thrown through. This effectively left the Autobots trapped on Cybertron.

As this conversation continues, Sunstreaker angrily tells Ironhide how Sideswipe has told them to back off. This so outrages the security chief that he goes off to where Mirage is standing alone and starts arguing with him. Though Mirage protests he’d reported the information in good faith, Ironhide refuses to believe him and beats him to the ground…

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: The Swarm*, Skywarp*, Thundercracker*, Starscream*, Megatron*, Deluge* [Possibly Killed], Bombshell*, Shrapnel*, Kickback*, Sunstreaker**, Jazz**, Bumblebee**, Ratchet**, Ironhide**, Perceptor, Springer, Roadbuster, Kup, Mirage**, Sideswipe**, Tracks**, Trailbreaker*, Cliffjumper**, Optimus Prime*, Prowl**, Hound*, Blitzwing*, Rumble*, Astrotrain*, Frenzy*, Ravage*, Viewfinder*, Dirge* [Possibly Killed], Scrapper*, Hook*, Devastator*, Wheeljack**, Blaster [Voiceover Only], Abraham Dante*, Scorponok*, Hunter O’Nion*, Soundwave*, Spectro*, Spyglass*.

[Characters marked * only appear in flashback, characters marked ** appear in both flashback and present]

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #8

Released March 11th 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Pencils by: Guido Guidi.

Inks by: Guido Guidi with John Wycough.

Colours by: Josh Burcham with Kris Carter.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Andy Schmidt & Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: The past: Sunstreaker has been separated from Hunter, but is clearly traumatised and refuses Ratchet’s request to see the human.

The present: On Cybertron, Kup chews out Ironhide for attacking Mirage, but also explains the frustration he feels about not seeing this betrayal coming. As they finish, the group is suddenly attacked by the Swarm and flee once more.

On Earth, the Reflector robots have fun dissecting some humans as Starscream approaches the Insecticons to both apologise for the behaviour of the other Seekers and sound them out about the potential of moving against Megatron.

On Cybertron, Kup has set up explosives along the route they’re following that Perceptor detonates to destroy a bridge they are crossing and slow the pursuit down. The place where Kup’s team had set up their base is accessible by only one bridge, so doing the same trick there will give them a degree of breathing space. But after the Swarm injures Perceptor they are left with no one with a gun capable of detonating the explosives. As they debate this Ironhide suddenly notices Sunstreaker is gone…

On Earth, Starscream talks to a mysterious stranger about how his plans are ready to be set in motion.

Back on Cybertron, Ironhide finds Sunstreaker has gone to the explosives on the bridge and is preparing to detonate them. He explains that it was him all along that betrayed the Autobots. He did a deal with Starscream where the Autobots would ambush Megatron alone and kill him in exchange for the Autobots letting the Decepticons have Earth, and thus doing what Sunstreaker wants most, killing all the humans.

Ironhide is shocked but can’t react further as the Swarm attack them. Drift appears and saves Ironhide, leaving Sunstreaker to detonate the bombs, blowing up himself, the bridge and the Swarm in range.

As Ironhide recovers in a medical bay, Drift points out to him Sunstreaker couldn’t have given the Decepticons the codes they used to defeat the Autobots. They must have had more help.

On Earth, Bombshell watches over his captive, Hunter O’Nion plugged right into the Decepticon computer…

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Sunstreaker* [killed], Ratchet*, Kup, Ironhide, Perceptor, Blaster, Bumblebee, Cliffjumper, Blurr, Blaster, Hot Rod, Spectro, Spyglass, Viewfinder, Starscream*, Bombshell, Kickback, Shrapnel, Hound, the Swarm, Drift, Hunter O’Nion.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #9

Released March 25th 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Robert Deas and Emiliano Santalucia.

Colours by: Josh Burcham and Robert Deas.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits: Andy Schmidt and Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: In New York, Bridge and Sarah are clandestinely rummaging through a department store for supplies when they come upon Spike hunting down new clothes. Taking him back to their base he explains his secret mission and they offer to help, with Bridge insisting Sarah take proper command of the survivors. A man named Charles also wants in as the area where the secret weapon is kept is frequently patrolled by Rumble who he has issues with. As a bonus, Charles is also an ex-military cop who knows where to get lots of guns.

On Cybertron, the Autobots have used the CR chambers on the Trion to restore everyone to full health and began to make defences against the Swarm. Ironhide attempts to apologise to Mirage but gets rebutted. Ratchet tells Kup they’re physically fine though morale is still too low and they need Prime back to fix it, but informs him that Optimus isn’t going to get better any time soon.

Back on Earth, Spike retrieves the weapon, adapted from Shockwave’s gun, but as he and the others leave the building it was hidden in Rumble attacks. Spike fights back with a motorbike and Charles shots the cassettebot in the face. As Soundwave arrives and mourns the fall of his comrade with a sonic cry, the radio blackout in the area caused by Rumble had ended and all the phones start working allowing Spike to send a message out of the city.

On Cybertron, Sideswipe gives an impassioned speech about how he’s had enough, that they’ve become too much like the Decepticons, stating that they – including himself – deserved to die for the countless lives lost as a result of their war, and claims that Sunstreaker was a casualty long before his death. He is interrupted by a surprisingly quickly recovered Optimus who agrees with him, but asks the Autobots to stand by him one last time to end this. They agree.

In New York, a shocked Spike reveals what his father told him via phone, that regardless of the success of his mission the rest of the world is still going to bomb New York…

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Bridge, Sarah, Soundwave, Spike, Charles, Perceptor, Roadbuster, Springer, Trailbreaker, Prowl, Tracks, Blaster, Mirage, Ironhide, Kup, Ratchet, Rumble [Shot in the head], Sideswipe, Cliffjumper, Bumblebee, Hot Rod, Drift, Hound, Optimus Prime.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #10

Released April 15th 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi and Emiliano Santalucia.

Colours: Josh Burcham and James Brown.

Letters by: Neil Uyetake.

Edits by: Andy Schmidt and Denton J. Tipton.

$3.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: New York: Megatron and Bombshell oversee the construction of a spacebridge that will be the first link in a chain that will allow them to take the entire Universe. Megatron compliments the Insecticon on his use of Hunter to break the Autobot defences, before revealing he knows he has been betrayed. Starscream and the other Insecticons approach for a reckoning.

Cybertron: The Swarm has found the other bridge leading to the Autobots base. Before going into battle, Ironhide and Prime talk about the loss of the Matrix and their mutual appreciation, as they finish the Swarm attacks.

Back on Earth, Megatron is zapped by Shrapnel as Starscream's rants about how all he’s done is stall since they beat the Autobots. Megatron retorts that he was just waiting to see who was and wasn’t loyal to him, and that none of his warriors will turn against him. Starscream gloating reveals the Constructicons have joined his side.

The Autobots put up a valiant fight, with Mirage saving Ironhide’s life, but they seem overwhelmed. Luckily at this moment, Omega Supreme arrives and easily kills the entire surrounding Swarm before explaining he has responded to the message Hot Rod had desperately set up after crashing. Optimus herds everyone aboard their large comrade to go to Earth.

On the blue green planet, Megatron is able to hold his own against Devastator, but the contest is ended when the European forces arrive to attack the city.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Bombshell, Megatron, Shrapnel, Kickback, Starscream, Thundercracker, Spyglass, Blitzwing, Astrotrain, Cliffjumper, Jazz, Sideswipe, Bumblebee, Roadbuster, Drift, Blurr, Hot Rod, Wheeljack, Prowl, Perceptor, Optimus Prime, Ironhide, Kup, Hound, Soundwave, Laserbeak, Rumble, Scrapper, Long Haul, Mixmaster, Scavenger, Hook, Bonecrusher, The Swarm, Springer, Blaster, Omega Supreme.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #11

Due May 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: Josh Burcham and Felix Serrano.

Letters by: Chris Mowry.

Edits by: Andy Schmidt and Denton J. Tipton.

Synopsis: As Spike prepares to make his move, he tells Bridge, Sarah and Charles they don’t have to risk their lives with him. However, they decide that if they’re all going to be nuked anyway they might as well take out a robot with them.

As the Decepticons rally against the Eurofighters, Starscream is suspicious of the convenience of the timing of this attack. Megatron explains he’d planned for this all along. In order to make the Decepticons capable of taking on the Autobots, he’d made them incredibly ruthless and vile. With the Autobot threat now removed, he plans to use the humans to destroy what he’s created so he can rebuild it along the lines he’d originally conceived.

Unfortunately for Megatron something he hadn’t planned on happens, Omega Supreme arrives and drops his cargo of Autobots on top of New York. Megatron assures Starscream that one day he will lead the Decepticons, and he’ll take that leadership defeating Megatron. But for today he needs Starscream’s loyalty to end the Autobot threat, a task the Seeker agrees to with some glee.

Omega Supreme fights Devastator, but as the city is in danger of being destroyed from the battle of the titans he blasts the two of them into the sky and away from any property damage. Seeing this from his base, Colonel Witwicky is shocked to see two giants, untill Hawke tells him of the new arrivals. Witwicky decides this changes nothing, the nuclear bomb is still on its way and they need to evacuate the area ASAP.

Prime and Megatron face off against each other, with Megatron gloating over his possession of the Matrix and how he’s going to kill Prime.

At the US base, the evacuating troops are having trouble moving one of their vehicles, and then get even more of a surprise when it suddenly Transforms into a Decepticon that begins blasting the base. Witwicky realises they’ve been played, and panics over the thought that the robots could be hiding anywhere.

Across the Atlantic Ocean, the EU plane carrying the bomb makes its way towards New York. But this is no ordinary aircraft - it’s a Decepticon…

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Spike, Bridge, Sarah, Charles, Devastator, Megatron, Starscream. Astrotrain, Reflector, Rumble, Soundwave, Thundercracker, Kup, Optimus Prime, Cliffjumper, Jazz, Springer, Prowl, Ironhide, Omega Supreme, Blitzwing, Skywarp, Ratchet, Blaster, Roadbuster, Kickback, Bombshell, Shrapnel, Mirage, Bumblebee, Tracks, Colonel Witwicky, Hawke, Tankor*, Dropshot**.

*Though unnamed here issue 12 reveals the Decepticon formally known as Octane is now called Tankor. For full discussion on this see next issue. **The Universe toy, not the Micromaster; see Notes in the review.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron #12

Due June 2009.

Written by: Shane McCarthy.

Art by: Guido Guidi.

Colours by: James Brown and Josh Burcham.

Edits by: Andy Schmidt and Denton J. Tipton.

Synopsis: In the rubble of New York, a vengeful Sideswipe takes on the Insecticons, whilst Bombshell gloats over what he did to both Sunstreaker and Hunter. Kup helps him knock out Bombshell, but Skywarp soon plucks up the old Autobot into the air. Kup deals with this by merely blowing a hole in his side and falling into the water.

Omega Supreme and Devastator grapple by the Statue of Liberty, with Omega winning by blowing a giant whole through both the combiner and statue.

At the US base, Colonel Witwicky orders his men to retreat whilst he takes on Dropshot single handedly [?????]. Over in the city his son prepares to take the shot on Megatron, whilst he and Optimus fight.

Colonel Witwicky gets Dropshot’s attention by firing a bazooka into his armpit [??????]. Dropshot doesn’t take kindly to this and prepares to squash the human, but Kup comes up out of the sea behind him.

In New York, Megatron has Prime on his knees, but rather than killing him [??????] orders the Decepticons to leave, letting the humans die alongside the Autobots as the bomb destroys all he’s worked on since taking over the City [??????]. Spike uses this opportunity to fire his weapon, which hits Megatron in the face blinding him. Prime then recovers enough from his wounds [??????] to knock Megatron down.

However, before he can do anything to either finish Megatron or take him captive, Starscream steps forward and proclaims he’s going to save their leader [?????] and carry out the retreat, and despite everything they’ve still won. The Autobots just watch them go, with the Matrix as well, and make no effort to stop them [?????].

Optimus then decides they need a flier to sort out the nuclear bomb, and Thundercracker volunteers [??????] because he doesn’t consider humans a fair fight [??????]. He flies up into the sky and grabs the giant missile, which luckily doesn’t explode on contact [?????] and flings it into the sky where it explodes above New York. The Autobots and humans cheer, completely unbothered by the imminent fallout [?????].

Meanwhile, Kup, who has defeated Dropshot, sits down for a chat with Witwicky.

An annoyed Skywarp kills Thundercracker for his betrayal [?????] and Spike tries to piss off the new group of giant alien robots, who’ve just saved the day, by telling them it’s all their fault [?????].

Sideswipe goes to the secret Decepticon barn [?????] and upon finding Hunter, pulls the plug on his life support, killing him [??????].

The End [??????]

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Sideswipe, Kickback, Bombshell, Kup, Skywarp, Omega Supreme, Devastator [Blasted to bits], Dropshot [Killed], Colonel Witwicky, Hawke, Bridge, Spike, Sarah, Charles, Optimus Prime, Megatron [Blinded], Tankor*, Blitzwing, Starscream, Thundercracker [Killed by Skywarp], Ironhide, Bumblebee, Jazz, Soundwave, Astrotrain, Laserbeak, Shrapnel, Drift, Cliffjumper, Roadbuster, Ratchet, Prowl, Hound, Hunter [Killed by Sideswipe].

*For more on the naming of Tankor see Notes in the review.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by inflatable dalek

All Hail Megatron: Volume 1 TPB

Amazon estimate March 2009.

$19.99 list price.


Publisher solicitation: The Decepticons have won, the Autobots are defeated, and the time for conquest is at hand! After finally succeeding in defeating the Autobots, the Decepticons set about ruling our planet with an iron fist. Their forces invade and control New York City where, before long, they manage to cripple the United States. It's a war between the armed forces of the United States of America and a giant species of technologically advanced killing machines - a war that suddenly becomes incredibly one-sided! Meanwhile, the battered and defeated Autobots are struggling to survive a forced exile on their dead homeworld of Cybertron. Defeated due to a traitor amongst their ranks, the Autobots struggle to maintain their trust and unity... and nothing short of a miracle will save them from utter extinction! Volume One of this collection contains issues #1-6 of this startling series.

Browse at Amazon.com | Browse at Amazon.co.uk

All Hail Megatron: Volume 2 TPB

Amazon estimate September 2009.

$19.99 list price.


Publisher solicitation: As the Autobots continue their hunt for the traitor in their midst while stranded on their homeworld of Cybertron, tempers flare, and the secrets of the Autobots' defeat are revealed. Meanwhile, on Earth, the human uprising begins as Megatron attempts to fend off a coup by a fellow Decepticon. In this all-out war for Earth not everyone will survive, and the showdown you've been waiting for has a battle so fierce, you'll be shocked at who makes it out alive! This book collects issues #7-12 of the breakout hit series.

Browse at Amazon.com | Browse at Amazon.co.uk

 

| Maximum Dinobots | IDW Comics Guide | Spotlights V4 |

 
 
[the-hub.co.uk]
[transfans.co.uk]
[oneshallstand]
[unicron.com]
[counter-x.net]
[ntfa.net]
[allspark.com]
[transformertoys.co.uk]
[tfu.info]
[botchthecrab.com]
[obscure_tf]
[tfradio.net]
 

[TFArchive button]
Link graphics...

BOOKMARK US
Or in FF, hit Ctrl+D.