The Transformers Archive Skip to main content / Also skip section headers

[The Transformers Archive - an international fan site]
Please feel free to log in or register.

 
  • transformers toys
  • transformers comics
  • transformers cartoon
  • transformers live-action movies
  • transformers fandom
  • transformers forum

THE TRANSFORMERS: COMICS, BOOKS AND MANGA

IDW Publishing
(2005-now)
Devil's Due
(2003-2007)
Dreamwave
(2002-2004)
Club/Con
(2001-now)
Titan Books
(2001-now)
Marvel Comics
(1984-1994)
Japanese
Manga
Other Books
and Titles

CURRENT TRANSFORMERS COMICS FROM IDW PUBLISHING

Beast Wars: The Gathering

| #1 | #2 | #3 | #4 | TPB | Manga | Omnibus | PREVIEWS |

Beast Wars: The Gathering #1

Released on 15th February 2006.

Written by Simon Furman.

Script consulting by Ben Yee.

Art by Don Figueroa.

Colours by Josh Burcham.

Letters by Tom B Long.

Edited by Chris Ryall and Dan Taylor.

$2.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Magmatron narrates a brief summary of the Beast Wars to his troops. He has arrived back in time on prehistoric Earth, sent by his superiors to retrieve Megatron where Ravage failed. However, he has no intention of doing this — his plan is to build an army and take it back to the future. To this end, he's engaged Razorbeast and various others (based on Beast Wars toys who weren't in the show) to assist him in finding crashed statis pods and forcibly programming the protoforms inside as Predacons. The other Maximals and Predacons on the planet are to be kept unawares by chronal displacement, allowing the future Predacons to interact with their environment but not be noticed. We flashback to Cybertron where Magmatron explains this plan, with another flashback that reveals Razorbeast is a Maximal spy. Razorbeast is instructed to send word to Cybertron if he can, or act to try and foil Magmatron if that's not possible.

The first protoforms emerge as Predacons, before a Maximal emerges and squashes Spittor (one of Magmatron's troops.) Razorbeast's plan becomes clear — he's programmed as many pods as he safely could to emerge as Maximals. He flees the Predacon camp and sends out a signal to the newly programmed Maximals... and a second, parallel Beast Wars has begun...

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Tigatron, Airazor, Waspinator, Inferno, Dinobot, Silverbolt, Quickstrike, Megatron (original and Transmetal forms), Terrorsaur, Cheetor, Rhinox, Blackarachnia, Optimus Primal (original, Transmetal and Optimal forms), Ravage, Magmatron, Razorbeast Transquito, Spittor, Manterror, Iguanus, Drill Bit, Depthcharge, Killer Punch, Dead End, Tripredacus Council (Cicadacon, Ram Horn, Sea Clamp), Lio Convoy, Big Convoy, Heinlad, Retrax, Snapper, Jetstorm, Polar Claw, Ramulus, Snarl, Bonecrusher, B'Boom, Cybershark, Optimus Minor, Wolfang, Insecticon, Torca, Bantor, Armordillo, Noctorro, Stinkbomb, K-9.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by Denyer, Reviewed by Bombshell

Beast Wars: The Gathering #2

Released on 15th March 2006.

Written by Simon Furman.

Script consulting by Ben Yee.

Art by Don Figueroa.

Colours by Josh Burcham.

Letters by Tom B Long.

Edited by Chris Ryall and Dan Taylor.

$2.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Following the events of the last issue, Magmatron briefs the newly awaited Predacons and gives them orders to track down and eliminate the newly awakened Maximals as he, Drill Bit and Spittor head off to deal with Razorbeast who, along with Wolfang, Ramulus, B’Boom, Bonecrusher, Optimus Minor and Snarl are looking for the wreckage of Ravage’s transwarp cruiser, attempting to find the ship’s transwarp amplifier in order to contact Cybertron.

As they traverse the area, they come under attack by Magmatron, who separates Razorbeast from the others. Razorbeast gains the upper hand, however, and brings Magmatron down as he and the other Maximals flee the scene. As this happens, Snarl and Optimus Minor search the remains of the transwarp cruiser and find the transwarp amplifier, which they recover (after dealing with Drill Bit), only to find that it was damaged in the crash.

Razorbeast suggests that they go to the Ark to attempt to repair it as Magmatron finds his own tool within the wreckage – the intact spark core of Tripredacus Agent Ravage.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Jetstorm, Buzz Saw, Lazorbeak, Scavenger, Snapper, Razorclaw, Powerpinch, Terrogator, Retrax, Sky Shadow, Buzzclaw, Injector, Insecticon, Scourge, Magmatron, Manterror, Transquito, Iguanus, Drill Bit, Spittor, B’Boom, Wolfang, Bonecrusher, Razorbeast, Ramulus, Snarl, Optimus Minor, Stinkbomb, K-9, Armordillo, Torca, Bantor, Noctorro, Claw Jaw, Cybershark, Sonar, Night Glider, Prowl, Air Hammer, Polar Claw, Ravage.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by Denyer, Reviewed by Bombshell

Beast Wars: The Gathering #3

Released on 5th April 2006.

Written by Simon Furman.

Script consulting by Ben Yee.

Art by Don Figueroa.

Colours by Josh Burcham.

Letters by Tom B Long.

Edited by Chris Ryall and Dan Taylor.

$2.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: At the Maximal base, Optimus Primal laments that things have changed. Unaware of their presence, Razorbeast and his crew infiltrate the base in order to gain access to the Ark in order to repair the transwarp amplifier (obtained last issue). Meanwhile, Magmatron gives new life to Ravage, who he orders to deal with Razorbeast and the other Maximals while he, Drill Bit and Spittor deal with capturing Megatron.

Megatron returns to the Predacon base with the “Sentinel” components recovered from the Axalon (as seen in “Deep Metal”), only to be attacked by Magmatron. As the two Predacons fight one another, Drill Bit and Spittor sneak up from behind and knock him out. The trio then leave with Megatron as Inferno and Quickstrike arrive.

Razorbeast, finding out about Magmatron’s plan is moving towards its conclusion, head off with Optimus Minor to stop him as Snarl and Bonecrusher head back to the Maximal base, unaware that they are being shadowed by Ravage and an elite group of Predacons.

Arriving at the area where Magmatron intends to return to Cybertron, Razorbeast comes up with a plan to stop the Predacons, but needs a distraction. Such a distraction comes with the arrival of one of Cybertron’s best: Grimlock.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Optimal Optimus, Cheetor, Rhinox, Snarl, Optimus Minor, Razorbeast, Bonecrusher, Transquito, Retrax, Powerpinch, Insecticon, Scourge, Insecticon, Icebird, Poison Bite, Soundwave, Magmatron, Drill Bit, Iguanus, Ravage (in Tripredacus Agent form), Megatron, Rampage, Inferno, Quickstrike, Lazorbeak, Sky Shadow, Buzz Saw, Jetstorm, Injector, Ramulus, Wolfang, Grimlock.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by Bombshell

Beast Wars: The Gathering #4

Released on 10th May 2006.

Written by Simon Furman.

Script consulting by Ben Yee.

Art by Don Figueroa.

Colours by Josh Burcham.

Letters by Tom B Long.

Edited by Chris Ryall and Dan Taylor.

$2.99 cover price, choice of covers.

Synopsis: Sky Shadow locates the Maximal camp, informing Ravage of that fact. Ravage speeds off in order to deal with Maximals, ordering the other Predacons to advance.

At the Bivouac, Grimlock makes short work of Drill Bit and Iguanus as Razorbeast and Optimus Minor look on. Realizing that the former Dinobot has given them the opportunity they need, Razorbeast orders Minor to head off as Magmatron splits into his component beast modes and engages Grimlock.

At the Maximal base, the Maximal group finishes the modifications to the Transwarp Signal Booser, Snarl informing the others that they will only have one chance of send a message to Cybertron, unaware of the fact that Ravage and the other Predacons are closing in on their position. The Predacons attack, and Snarl orders the other Maximals to leave in order to buy him the time to send the signal.

Meanwhile, back at the Bivouac, Magmatron finishes off Grimlock and prepares to leave with Megatron when Razorbeast arrives. Magmatron attempts to subdue the Maximal, but thanks to a stolen time phase device, Razorbeast easily dodges the attacks. Meanwhile, Minor snatches the time phase device off of Megatron, re-synching him back into the proper time frame. Magmatron, irate, attempts to confront Minor, but finds himself on the teleportation platform as it activates. Razorbeast blasts the device, sending Magamtron to parts unknown.

The other Maximals, meanwhile, are cornered by the highly superior Predacon force. But just when all hope seems lost, the other newly awakened Maximals, led by Torca, arrive to even the score. The Predacons are swiftly defeated and retreat.

Once the Predacons are gone, the Maximals rescue Snarl from the rubble. Snarl states that a message to Cybertron was sent, though whether or not they receive it is anyone’s guess. In the meantime, the Maximals decide to make do with the situation.

Two weeks later, Prowl converses with Razorbeast, who laments on not dealing with Megatron when he had the chance. Prowl says that, for better or for worse, Razorbeast did the right thing, and what happens now is what counts.

Characters Featured [in rough order of appearance]: Sky Shadow, Ravage, Razorbeast, Optimus Minor, Magmatron, Iguanus, Drill Bit, Megatron (Transmetal), B’Boom, Snarl, Wolfang, Bonecrusher, Manterror, Jetstorm, Buzz Saw, Lazorbeak, Buzzclaw, Snapper, Terrogator, Insecticon, Spittor, Scavenger, Scourge, Ramulus, Sonar, Night Glider, Armordillor, Air Hammer, Bantor, Noctorro, Cybershark, Prowl, Claw Jaw, Polar Claw, Stinkbomb, K-9.

Reviews & Commentary: Reviewed by Bombshell

Beast Wars: The Gathering TPB

Released 16th August 2006.

$17.99 list price.

Reprints issues #1-4 of Beast Wars: The Gathering.


Publisher solicitation: The fan-favorite pairing of writer Simon Furman and artist extraordinaire Don Figueroa on a complete Beast Wars saga is here. In this special collection of the wildly popular miniseries, as one strand of the Beast Wars rages on, another is just beginning. Predacon general Magmatron is on a mission to capture the renegade Megatron, but his true intentions are far more terrifying and revolutionary; his ultimate aim - to bring Cybertron itself to its knees. All he needs... is an army. And he knows exactly where to find one!

Browse at Amazon.com | Browse at Amazon.co.uk

Beast Wars: The Gathering "manga" reprint

Released 14th March 2007.

$9.99 list price.

Reprints issues #1-4 of Beast Wars: The Gathering in grayscale.


Publisher solicitation: The long-awaited pairing of writer Simon Furman and artist extraordinaire Don Figueroa on a Beast Wars saga is finally upon us. The Beast Wars—the time-lost series of conflicts on Earth, where heroic MAXIMALS are pitted against evil PREDACONS—is celebrating its 10th anniversary with this special collection, presented in this special manga digest.

Browse at Amazon.com | Browse at Amazon.co.uk

Beast Wars Omnibus TPB

Released 25th March 2009.

$24.99 list price.

Publisher solicitation: Get a firm grasp on the entire Transformers: Beast Wars universe with this collection of The Gathering, The Ascending, and The Beast Wars Sourcebook! In The Gathering, Razorbeast and his fellow Maximals prevent rogue Predacon leader Magmatron from raising an army on Earth to wage war against Cybertron. But in The Ascending, Magmatron, now a disembodied entity, existing out of time and space, is witness to Cybertron's unchecked descent into chaos and madness, all of which is a prelude to its complete and utter destruction! Powerless to directly affect this terrifying apocalypse, Magmatron's last, desperate recourse is to try and bring his greatest enemy, Razorbeast, together with fellow Maximals Lio Convoy and The Pack. Whatever happens will determine the fate of both Cybertron and the Earth! Also included in this special collection is the entire Beast Wars Sourcebook, an in-depth look at the characters that inhabit the Beast Wars universe - bios, weaknesses, abilities, and more are presented alongside vibrant renditions by some of Transformers most revered artistic talents!

Browse at Amazon.com | Browse at Amazon.co.uk

 

| put intro here | IDW Comics Guide | The Ascending |

 
 
[the-hub.co.uk]
[transfans.co.uk]
[oneshallstand]
[unicron.com]
[counter-x.net]
[ntfa.net]
[allspark.com]
[transformertoys.co.uk]
[tfu.info]
[botchthecrab.com]
[obscure_tf]
[tfradio.net]
 

[TFArchive button]
Link graphics...

BOOKMARK US
Or in FF, hit Ctrl+D.