PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new router?


Notabot
2013-03-01, 01:39 AM
Thanks to an online backup I've been doing for over a week, I discovered that I had a fairly slow internet connection. I upgraded (for a very cheap amount), and am now getting ~25 Mps download and 5 upload. I'm currently using a Linksys WRT54GS (http://reviews.cnet.com/routers/linksys-wrt54gs-wireless-g/4507-3319_7-30825185.html) for my wifi and home network. Is it able to take advantage of the higher speed, or should I start looking for something newer? If I need something new, any suggestions for something that will make my Netflix awesome? I don't do much (if any) online gaming.

Denyer
2013-03-01, 03:15 AM
Possible reasons:

http://superuser.com/questions/490832/why-does-wireless-gear-degrade-over-time

The Sky branded generic router/modem we've got is a piece of crap that barely broadcasts, so it's plugged into the Belkin N150 Enhanced Wireless Router we were using before. Really cheap kit, but it's been okay with both cable and DSL connections.

Thunderwave
2013-03-01, 04:32 AM
I just got rid of the wireless connection I was using on my desktop. I was getting far slower speeds then I liked so I ended up running a cable from my office to the router and plugging in directly. sped me up significantly.

If you go this route, even in the short term, don't go to an electronics store. Home Depot had CAT 5/e (typical home Ethernet) cables for about 1/4 or less the price Best Buy or even WalMart was charging.

Denyer
2013-03-01, 03:07 PM
Yeah, if a discreet cable (or maybe those network-over-power-wiring things that just plug into a normal wall socket?) is possible, that's the best bet.

edit: Something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/ZyXEL-HomePlug-Powerline-Wall-Plug-Adapter/dp/B003ULOZ5W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1362150514&sr=8-1&keywords=network+over+power+line

Notabot
2013-03-01, 04:31 PM
We're pretty happy with the wifi situation. I'm just kind of curious if newer routers will give a stronger or faster signal, or if it's just better security, bells, and whistles.
I did actually get a networking cable from Home Depot about 5 years ago, and it was indeed way cheaper than anywhere else. We have an office printer about 50 feet away in another room, so running a 75 foot cable into the basement and then back up again seemed like the best solution. I think Best Buy and even Amazon were about $50 more if I remember correctly.

Denyer
2013-03-01, 04:35 PM
Not even better bells and whistles, really. Unless you're into quite specialist usage it's just the same old commodity hardware built for obsolescence.

Last article I noticed on the better stuff;

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2012/06/because-everyone-still-needs-a-router.html

The feature comparison at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tomato_(firmware) might give some more ideas, and notes some more active development projects.

edit: Obviously there can be also a quality difference between wi-fi equipment at the device end, and it tends to get overlooked in troubleshooting. Best to start off wired then change other things until you get the same throughput.

Notabot
2013-03-04, 07:29 PM
Semi-related: Now that I'm using an online backup plan, is it worth it to keep up with my local backup? I'm using EaseUS Todo, and it just ran out of space, so I need to decide whether or not to mess with clearing up the space or just scrapping it completely. And since I'm using the free version, I'm not losing money by not using it.

Cyberstrike nTo
2013-03-04, 07:46 PM
When my D-Link router went out I bought a Netgear N600 Duel Band Router. It's both wired and wireless router, what surprised me was how easy it was too set up. My D-Link was a nightmare to set up, the N600 was very very easy to set up and I had have zero problems with it.