DREAMWAVE TRANSFORMERS COMIC ISSUE GUIDES

Frequently Asked Questions (Dreamwave Comics)

01. Transformers Generation 1 [Dreamwave]

a) Who published the comic?
b) Who wrote and drew the comics?
c) Where does Dreamwave's version of Generation 1 fit into continuity?
d) How many covers were produced for each issue?
e) How were the Previews made available?
f) How is Wheeljack still alive in the second series?
g) What is Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye?
h) What was the Summer Special?
i) Are any of the comics available now?
j) What was the Datatracks 2004 Annual/2005 Annual?
k) Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?
l) Is there any chance of the Dreamwave Generation 1 storyline continuing?

02. Transformers Armada and Energon

a) How long did the comic run for?
b) Who wrote and drew the comics?
c) Is is the same continuity as the Armada/Energon cartoon?
d) How was the Armada Preview made available, and where does it fit?
e) What was the Armada Free Comic Book Day edition, and where does it fit?
f) Where does the Energon Summer Special strip fit?
g) Were there any alternate covers?
h) Are they the same characters as the originals?
i) Is the universe shown in the "Worlds Collide" crossover the same as Dreamwave's normal G1 timeline?
j) Are any of the comics available now?
k) Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?
l) Is there any chance of the Energon storyline continuing?

03. Transformers - The War Within and Micromasters

a) When have the comics been published?
b) Who wrote and drew the comic?
c) When are the comics set?
d) Is it the same timeline as the Dreamwave G1 series? Or the Marvel material?
e) When is the War Within Preview set?
f) Were there any variant covers?
g) Are any of the comics available now?
h) Is there any chance of the War Within storyline continuing? Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?

04. Transformers Armada and Energon [UK]

a) How long did the comic run for?
b) Who writes and draws the series?
c) Does it fit with the Dreamwave Armada continuity?
d) What was were the UK 2004/2005 annuals?
e) Will the UK exclusive material ever be reprinted?

---

01. Transformers Generation 1 [Dreamwave]

a) Who published the comic?

The rights were acquired in 2001 by Canadian company Dreamwave, formed by Pat Lee after breaking away from Image Comics. Early that year they announced plans for a six-issue Generation 1 mini-series to accompany their work on new franchise Armada [see here]. A Preview was released in March 2001, with one given to each dealer, with the series starting soon after. It ran for six issues [with a reprint of the Preview issued alongside #1], to massive commercial success, despite delays to the final two issues. A second series was soon confirmed, with a Preview appearing in the TPB of the first series, now named 'The Prime Directive'. However, DW decided to radically overhaul the series, basically ignoring this preview in favour of a brand new six-issue mini-series named 'War and Peace', which again began in June. An ongoing was swiftly announced, beginning with a new #0 in November 2003. In September 2004, Dreamwave also released a summer special, containing stories from G1, Energon, Robots in Disguise and Beast Wars. However, the ongoing fell behind schedule as Dreamwave encountered financial trouble. The writing team left after #10, complaining they hadn't been paid, and a relaunch failed to appear before Dreamwave lost the Transformers license, and folded.

b) Who wrote and drew the comics?

Art for all of Dreamwave's first two mini-series was handled by Pat Lee, aside from one cover - a Dynamic Forces exclusive version of Vol. 2 #1, drawn by Bill Sienkiwicz, artist for the cover of 'The Transformers' #1 for Marvel in 1984. Issue #0 of the ongoing saw art from Lee, Don Figueroa and Joe Ng, before Figueroa took over the ongoing from #1. Since then, James Raiz drew a back-up strip for #4, and Lee returned for the G1 section of the Summer Special. Chris Sarracini wrote all of the first series, and the Preview for the second, before Brad Mick took over for the remainder of the second, and all of the ongoing to date, as well as the G1 section of the Summer Special. From issue #6 of the ongoing, Brad Mick became known as James McDonough.

c) Where does Dreamwave's version of Generation 1 fit into continuity?

Despite a number of early theories and innumerable references to the contrary, Dreamwave are following their own continuity, and any attempts to force it into either established cartoon or comic continuity would be extremely difficult, and largely futile as the ongoing nature of the material would mean constant revision. However, it does contain a number of elements familiar to both.

d) How many covers were produced for each issue?

Aside from the Previews, each Generation 1 comic has had at least two covers, known as 'Autobot' and 'Decepticon' covers, usually spotlighting the apposite faction and with an altered logo. The Preview was issued firstly with a fairly fitting cover as a dealer exclusive, then a less applicable one featuring Optimus Prime for the reprint. There have been a number of variants for the various individual issues, too. Vol. 1 #1 had a holofoil cover, and an incentive version only available to dealers at a 25:1 ratio to the number of copies of #1 ordered. Following the sale of all first printings, second and third printings had a new cover each. Both #2 and #5 also sold out, with a second printing given a new cover. For the second series, #1 was boosted by a holofoil cover, an incentive cover, and a cover available exclusively via the website Dynamic Forces. Issue #6 was also released with an incentive cover. For the ongoing, there was an incentive cover for #0. Issue #1 also featured two different covers, as well as an incentive, an exclusive for Silver Snail, the Canadian comic book chain, and a Dynamic Forces cover. Issue #4 also received an incentive cover.

e) How were the Previews made available?

The first printing of Vol. 1's Preview was only released sparingly, with one shipped to each dealer, though it was made available on the Internet. A second printing, backed up with the Armada Preview, was available via shops. The second series Preview as only available in the 'Prime Directive' TPB, though Dreamwave's website put a version without any of the dialogue online.

f) How is Wheeljack still alive in the second series?

A letters page glibly explained that, all appearances to the contrary, he didn't die at the end of the first series, and was patched up by Ratchet off-panel, despite Ratchet being not too far off dead himself at the time. So the actual answer is that Brad Mick didn't think Wheeljack should have been killed off, and that's about all there is to it. It should be noted, though, that people can say whatever they like in letters pages, interviews and editorials, but it still isn't actually fact if it's not backed up by the comics. Initially it was taken by some fans as an attempt to restart the Dreamwave continuity, but direct references to the first series later on blow this clean out of the water.

g) What is Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye?

Dreamwave's answer to 'The Transformers Universe'. Initially it was envisioned as a four-part prestige format series named 'Transformers Profiles', but failed to materialise for its November 2002 launch date. There are a number of rumours about why this happened. Reportedly, the $12.95 price of the prestige editions attracted very poor pre-orders, while alternatively Hasbro were rumoured to be deeply unhappy about many of the profiles. Each book was then split in half and rewritten. The resulting series, retitled 'Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye', began in April as double-sized comic. Issues #1 to #6 contained profiles of all the Transformers released as toys in America between 1984 and 1990, in alphabetical order, though some groups were filed by subgroup. Each had a page, bar the Pretenders, Countdown, Grimlock, Doubledealer, Galvatron, the Mini-Spies, Omega Supreme, Optimus Prime, Punch/Counterpunch, Quickswitch, Scorponok, Shockwave, Sixshot and Ultra Magnus, who had two, while Fortress Maximus, Megatron and Metroplex had three. Issue #7 finished off this format, before an appendix of characters whose abilities were boosted later in the toyline [e.g. Pretender Grimlock, Targetmaster Hot Rod or Powermaster Optimus Prime], bar the Action Master reuses. Of these, Powermaster Optimus Prime had two pages. Issue #8 performed the function of an encyclopaedia to the Dreamwave G1 continuity [note that it's only to the Dreamwave one...].

h) What was the Summer Special?

A one-off "annual" style comic published by Dreamwave in September 2004. It consisted of four nine-page stories - one using the company's G1 universe [set alongside the ongoing series], one based on Energon [see ], one on Beast Wars, and one on Robots in Disguise. It utilised different creative teams for each. Readers had a chance to vote for whichever series, out of Beast Wars and Robots in Disguise, most deserved its' own ongoing series. Beast Wars won, and a series, by Simon Furman and Don Figueroa, was slated to start in Winter 2004, but failed to emerge before the company folded.

i) Are any of the comics available now?

Most of Dreamwave's G1 material was made available in TPB form. The first mini, including both the Vol. 1 & Vol. 2 previews, was released in the book 'Volume 1 - The Prime Directive', in November 2002. The second series has been reprinted in a TPB named 'Volume 2 - War and Peace', issued in December 2003. Generation 1's 'More Than Meets the Eye' series is being released in two TPBs, the first of which, covering the Aerialbots though to the Pretender Monsters, was released in October 2004, with the second half following in November. However, the MTMTE trades were only made in limited numbers due to Dreamwave's bankruptcy, which also led to the 'Volume 3 - Ascendancy' TPB, featuring Vol. 3 #1-6, not coming out. All of these books are currently out of print, but IDW have the rights to reprint them, beginning with the "Volume 1 - The Prime Directive" in February 2006.

j) What was the Datatracks 2004 Annual/2005 Annual?

This was a special solicited initially in late 2004. It was basically a G1 annual, to include a new story featuring Optimus Prime and Ultra Magnus, which would have tied into the ongoing series, as well as a number of MTMTE style profiles on the characters featured in the series that hadn't made it into the MTMTE series itself [Elita-1, Alpha Trion, Sunstorm and Bumper are among those who were mentioned], a G1 timeline and a variant covers checklist. After James McDonough and Adam Patyk, the writers, left Dreamwave, the title was repromoted as the Generation 1 2005 Annual, with Chris Sarracini as writer, and similar contents, though this also disappeared when Dreamwave went under.

k) Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?

The magazine Comic Book Digest did print the first nine pages of #11, as pencil-only without the speech bubbles. This was intended to be a preview for the release of #11, which didn't materialise due to DW's bankruptcy. Since then, artists such as Guido Guidi have put unpublished work online at various bulletin boards. In addition to this, cover artwork for #11, #12, #13, #14 and the 2005 annual were made available online in various places.

l) Is there any chance of the Dreamwave Generation 1 storyline continuing?

Well, IDW have already made it clear they plan to start a new G1 continuity, meaning they won't be continuing from Dreamwave. However, finishing off the work at some later date if Transformers is a success hasn't been ruled out, especially as IDW will be reprinting the Dreamwave material in TPB form, but it almost certainly won't be addressed in IDW's main G1 book.

02. Transformers Armada and Energon

a) How long did the comic run for?

The series, produced by Dreamwave after an abortive attempts to create a 'Robots in Disguise' series, ran for 18 monthly issues from July 2001 to December 2003. In addition to this there was a Preview [see here], a Free Comic Book Day edition [see here], four toy comics [see here] and a separate UK series [see here]. An Armada version of 'More Than Meets the Eye' was released in March 2004, consisting of three issues. Dreamwave also produced four toy comics for the Armada toyline. From #19, the title was retitled as Energon, shifting the story forward twenty years but following the same continuity, to reflect Hasbro's change in the franchise. The series then continued until #30, after which it prematurely ended when Dreamwave went out of business. It was initially planned to run until #36 - there are rumours that it would have then rebranded as Cybertron to fit in with another change of toyline, but this has not been confirmed. Energon also featured in the 2004 Summer Special. An Energon version of 'More Than Meets the Eye' was slated to start, but failed to emerge before the company closed its' doors.

b) Who wrote and drew the comics?

The Preview and issues #1-5 were written by Chris Sarracini. Former Marvel writer Simon Furman then wrote #6 through to #30 and the Summer Special strip, while Brandon Easton wrote the Free Comic Book Day edition.

James Raiz drew #1-5, including the covers, later returning to draw the Summer Special and #24. He also drew the cover for #8, plus the cover for the Free Comic Book Day story was taken from his work on #3. Generation 1 penciller Pat Lee drew the holofoil cover for #1, the interiors of #6-7, the cover for #6 and the incentive covers for #7, #19 and #25. Former fan artist Guido Guidi drew the standard cover for #7, and then the interiors of #8-13 and #18-20 and #22, as well as the covers for #9-13, #15 and #18-21. Joe Ng came on board for Energon #21, also drawing #23 and #25, and the covers for #22-26. Don Figueroa, another fan artist turned pro, drew the Free Comic Book Day issue, #14-17 and the covers for #14, #16 and #17. Alex Milne drew #26-29 [as well as the covers for #27-30], with Marcelo Matere drawing #30.

c) Is is the same continuity as the Armada/Energon cartoon?

Much like the original Marvel series, much of the same basic starting point is used, but after that things diverge pretty rapidly, and any attempt to mesh the two would be difficult and ultimately pointless.

d) How was the Armada Preview made available, and where does it fit?

The Preview was only available in a reprint of the Generation 1 Preview initially. This short story fits somewhere between #2 and #3, after the Decepticons have stepped up the war, evident by the fact that Prime and Megatron have met, and Megatron is in possession of Leader-1. The Preview has since been reprinted in 'Transformers Armada Vol. 1'.

e) What was the Armada Free Comic Book Day edition, and where does it fit?

This was a special, book-length new story featuring most of the main cast at that point given away free in comic book stores in Spring 2003. The cast present suggests the story as happening between #6 and #7 of the series.

f) Where does the Energon Summer Special strip fit?

The short story sits outside of regular continuity, being set in a future which wouldn't happen due to the cancellation. It was intended to work as a preview for the direction the title was heading in before it was curtailed, and to slot in between #32 and #33.

g) Were there any alternate covers?

Pat Lee drew a limited-edition holofoil cover for #1, and then an incentive covers for #7 and #25, and the alternate cover for #19. Aside from that, each comic has only had a single cover. Some confusion was caused by the replacement of the cover for #12 after some promotional material had used a different one, but it would seem this was never intended for publication, and never found its way into print as a cover.

h) Are they the same characters as the originals?

In a literal sense, no, as in Optimus Prime isn't a past or future version of Optimus Prime from the G1 comic or anything. However, many of the characters share their basic archetypes with their namesakes - Prime and Megatron, treacherous Starscream, solid Jetfire etc.

i) Is the universe shown in the "Worlds Collide" crossover the same as Dreamwave's normal G1 timeline?

While it's unlikely to be so, there's nothing as of yet to confirm that the alternate Cybertron destroyed by Unicron, as well as Galvatron and the heralds and Optimus Prime aren't from the far-flung future of the Dreamwave G1 series. Just don't hold your breath awaiting confirmation in the positive...

j) Are any of the comics available now?

Most Armada/Energon comics are fairly easy to find, with the possible exception of the variant covers [see here], and the Preview. The early issues were, it would seem, printed in overoptimistic numbers on the back of the success of the G1 mini, and all can be found for around cover price.

All of the regular Armada issues have been issued in TPB form to date. 'Armada Vol. 1 - First Encounter' was released in April 2003, and collected the Preview and #1-5 in a new cover by James Raiz, and 'Armada Vol. 2 - Fortress' followed in August 2003, compiling #6-11, with a new cover by Guido Guidi. Issues #12-18 came out in 'Volume 3 - Worlds Collide!', in April 2004. Dreamwave took the decision to reprint Energon exclusively in their Pocket Book format [smaller books, with cheaper paper]. 'Energon Vol. 1' was released in June 2004, containing #19-22. #23-26 came out in November 2004. A third volume, slated to contain #27-30, was due to appear in March 2005, but was not released before Dreamwave went under. All of these books are currently out of print, though IDW's deal with Hasbro included the rights to reprint these.

k) Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?

To date, the only material made available has been the solicitation artwork [i.e. cover art] for #31 and #32. #31 would have tied up many of the previous plot elements, with Alpha Quintesson beginning to make his move. #32 was promoted as beginning the final arc for the series, and among others was due to introduce Omega Supreme and the new Demolisher, as well as featuring a climactic attack on Cybertron by Unicron and his Horsemen.

l) Is there any chance of the Energon storyline continuing?

Of the three uncompleted DW storylines [G1, War Within and Energon], Energon perhaps has the smallest chance of ever being finished. As it was based on the then-incumbent toyline, it suffers from Energon being superseded by Cybertron, meaning Hasbro would have little interest in a continuation, though they'd be unlikely to actively block it. The title has also attracted the smallest fan interest of the three curtailed series. That said, with Furman engaged as IDW's key writer, it shouldn't be ruled out.

03. Transformers - The War Within and Micromasters

a) When have the comics been published?

The Preview of the first series, containing eight pages of exclusive strip, a sketchbook and written pieces by Simon Furman and Don Figueroa, was issued in Autumn 2002, with the first six-issue series running from October 2002 through to March 2003. The first four pages of the Preview for series 1 were also issued in Dreamwave's Summer Preview Special in 2002. Exactly a year later the second series, subtitled 'The Dark Ages', commenced, again running for six issues. A third and final volume, named 'The Age of Wrath', started in September 2004. However, it had only reached #3 when Dreamwave collapsed. Micromasters was a four-part limited series, beginning in June 2004.

b) Who wrote and drew the comic?

The first series was written by Simon Furman, and drawn by Don Figueroa, a fan artist of some repute. Figueroa also designed nearly all the Cybertronian modes for the Transformers [the exceptions are a handful extant from the original cartoon or comic, such as Bumblebee and Wheeljack]. Figueroa also drew the covers for #1-4 and #6, with Pat Lee handling the one for #5. For the second series, former Marvel Transformers UK and US penciller Andrew Wildman took over the pencilling, though Figueroa again designed the new character models employed. Joe Ng came in as artist for the third series. James McDonough and Adam Patyk wrote the Micromasters mini-series, with Rob Ruffolo providing pencils.

c) When are the comics set?

The first series is set not too far into the Civil War, though no specific date is given, and begins with the death of Sentinel Prime, and the crowning of Optimus Prime [whose original name isn't given]. The second series begins some time later, with Optimus and Megatron presumed dead, and both the Autobots and Decepticons split into further factions. Note that it's not intended to be the pair's disappearance to Earth as all of their crews are still at large on Cybertron. The third series is set later again, with the majority of the factions on the brink of peace until Megatron returns to Cybertron with a new army. All would seem to take place before the Micromasters mini-series.

d) Is it the same timeline as the Dreamwave G1 series? Or the Marvel material?

Yes - interlocking the series with G1 has been achieved by both official confirmation, and use of TF:WW models in flashbacks. More shaky are some of the attempts to force it into Marvel continuity. This contradicts a large number of Marvel stories [aside from the massive art differences, there's Optimus Prime being Prime before the start of the civil war and knowing Megatron in "State Games"; the appearance of several combining teams, including the Stunticons, Combaticons and Protectobots, plus Jetfire, on Cybertron when they won't be created until the Transformers get to Earth; plus the overall character of several, including Optimus Prime], and is also pretty pointless. The purposeful inclusion of the above factors when Furman would be pretty sure he was contradicting Marvel continuity, plus the sheer pointless constraints of being bound by material he wrote for another company nearly twenty years previously point to this being a separate continuity to the Marvel work. Any attempts to shoehorn it in, junking legitimate Marvel material in the process simply because Furman wrote it is generally frowned on by any sensible comic fan.

e) When is the War Within Preview set?

Between issues #2 and #3 of the first series.

f) Were there any variant covers?

A lenticular cover for Vol. 1 #1 was issued, featuring a 'transforming' graphic of Optimus Prime. An incentive cover for Vol. 1 #6 was planned, but eventually Pat Lee's art was used on #5 as the standard cover. Dreamwave provided two covers for Vol. 2 #1, with Dynamic Forces releasing a third. All four issues of Micromasters were released with two covers.

g) Are any of the comics available now?

The first series, including the Preview, was collected in the 'The War Within Vol. 1' TPB, with a new cover by Don Figueroa, which came out in June 2003, but was printed in fairly small numbers. The second series came out in 'Vol. 2 - The Dark Ages', followed in June 2004. Vol. 1 was reissued as a Pocket Book in July 2004, but a reissue of the full-size Vol. 1 TPB, a hardcover version of Vol. 1, and a Pocket Book release of Vol. 2 were all cancelled when Dreamwave folded. All of these books are currently out of print, though IDW have plans to reprint them.

Micromasters was slated to come out in the Generation 1 Vol. 0 TPB, along with several other pieces from the G1 book [reputedly Vol. 3 #0, "Run with the Devil" from #4, and the G1 segment of the Summer Special]. However, this also failed to emerge, and it's unknown whether IDW will be releasing this compilation.

h) Is there any chance of the War Within storyline continuing? Was any of the post-cancellation material made available?

War Within has possibly the best chance of being completed by IDW. For one, there were only three more issues to go, as opposed to the six left for Energon and an undetermined number for Generation 1. For another, unlike Generation 1, it wouldn't provide a direct competitor to one of IDW's own titles. And finally, War Within writer Simon Furman has signed up for IDW, and given encouraging signs that the series will be completed.

In lieu of this better than average chance of continuation, the details that emerged by solicitation will be in white text. Select the text inside the table to read these: -

Flash would have discovered the secret of Megatron's invasion on Quintessa, where he was transported at the end of #3. #5 would have seen the return of Optimus Prime, mentally scarred by his extra-dimensional exile, with a climactic battle between Prime and Megatron in #6.

04. Transformers Armada and Energon [UK]

a) How long did the comic run for?

The monthly series, aimed at younger readers and published in the UK by Panini, began with an issue dated 21 May 2003. It was released four-weekly, with the cover date being the last day an edition is on sale before the new one arrives. Each comic contained all-new strip material, but the series failed to take off, despite a number of old Marvel hands being onboard, and a variety of outlandish free gifts. It would end with issue 9, dated December 31st 2003. Further issues were in different stages of completion when Panini pulled the plug, but whether these will ever see the light of day remains to be seen.

b) Who writes and draws the series?

Simon Furman has wrote the comic in tandem with his work for Dreamwave. The series also saw a number of returns from old Marvel UK Transformers staff, including Andy Wildman, Geoff Senior, Martin Griffiths and Lee Sullivan, as well as new blood like Jon Mitchell and Keiron Ward.

c) Does it fit with the Dreamwave Armada continuity?

No. After a similar start, the UK series soon starts setting up its own continuity.

d) What was were the UK 2004/2005 annuals?

Both were Christmas cash-in merchandise, released by Pedigree [a company independent of Panini]. The 2004 annual featured Armada, reprinting Dreamwave's material [namely #1, #2 and, for some odd reason, #6]. The 2005 annual featured Energon, reprinting #20 and #21. Both books were large format, with hard covers.

e) Will the UK exclusive material ever be reprinted?

It seems unlikely, to be frank. The comic was not well received by fans, and attracted little attention from America, which would be the key market for a TPB reprint. Crucially, writer Simon Furman isn't very proud of his work on the title, and is editor of Titan, who would most likely be the issuer of any prospective TPB.

---

With thanks to Denyer, Brendocon, Jetfire 2.1, Osku, Death's Head, Josh Maki, Ozz, Best First, Spiderfrommars, Papa Snarl, Legion, Rebis, Metal Vendetta, Hound, Bombshell, Liam Kavanagh, Senex Prime, Crespo, James Wilson, Rapido, Steve-o Stonebreaker, Tengu and Stone-Cold Skywarp.